top of page

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

3 Favorite Authors 2021

As an avid reader since I was a child I have quite the collection of authors that I continue to enjoy reading from as they tend to immerse you into a new world full of characters that you both love and hate. In this first post I figured I'd touch base on the 3 authors who have shaped my reading experiences this year. I'll explain a little bit about them, why I fell in love with their works, and the books from them that I've currently completed.




R. L. Mathewson is an author that I just recently was turned to by my mom. Her books are extremely well written and funny as hell. By far my favorite series that she has written has been the Neighbor From Hell, featuring different characters from the same family, the Bradford's, and a "family curse" that they are destined to marry their neighbors who make their lives hell. This series I would definitely place in the romantic comedy genre but don't let it fool you because a good portion of the series will also break your heart. You will laugh, you will cry, and you will constantly want to continue reading them. Her writing style is really easy to read and descriptive when it needs to be without being overly descript. She does write a large amount of adult series but has recently brought out a YA series that is also a really great read about the children of the same family. I have only been able to complete this series, EMS, and Anger management series. I've linked her website for you to find all her books and will continue to give updates in other blog posts about the books I've read from her. https://www.rlmathewson.com/




Sherrilyn McQueen, who is currently trying to revert back to writing under her maiden name instead of her married name of Kenyon. She's gone through one hell of a nasty divorce and is still currently fighting for her publishing rights to all her books. You'll find most of her books under her married name but some will be under her maiden name just like her website. To read more about this you can google articles and check her official facebook page for updates. But here in this blog, we will only be speaking of her works of amazing art. This year my mother gave me a few of her books to read and one of them was the one pictured here which started me on a 34 book series about Dark Hunters. By far probably her most loved series and she continues to write it to this day. Her other series are just as popular but this one is probably my favorite. Her series include this one (Dark Hunters), The League, The Nick Chronicles, etc... And most of the time within these series are other series that tie into the other. Her style of writing is crisp and clear cut and extremely well written. This author knows how to pull not only your attention but your emotions into the book so that you feel everything the characters feel. Yes it is on the "fantasy" side of writing that includes Greek and Roman mythology but also ties in Egyptian, Indian, and a ton of other religions, customs, and mythologies. The characters end up developing over several books and each book tells more of a story within a story. I am infatuated with this series and have currently pre ordered the next book in the series that comes out next April (2022). Her works and special items from the books can be found on her website. https://www.sherrilynkenyon.com/





Susan Elizabeth Phillips is my 3rd favorite this year. The series of books that I've been reading from her recently is called Chicago Stars. This series can actually be read as stand alone books instead of having to read in order which is really good for me because when my mom told me about a book series she was reading the only book I was actually interested in was the one pictured here when she described a particular scene in the book about the woman removing every single marshmallow out of several boxes of a mans favorite cereal. Now I won't go into too many details of this book in this post because that would just be a spoiler for those of you who get interested but I laughed until I cried. She writes several book series that I'm excited to read much later. Her website is very well laid out, brightly colored and has a ton of information on her books, appearances, awards, and bio. You can find her works there and of course on e-reader sites. Her descriptions are clear and her dialogues are funny and quirky. https://susanelizabethphillips.com/










bottom of page